CARSOUND.COM Forum

Go Back   CARSOUND.COM Forum > Archived Forums > Richard Clark on Audio archives
FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 07-07-2000, 08:01 PM   #1
Californiaguy

I am new to all this, but I do know this much..for my music enjoyment, I like a system that delivers a "tight" sound. So, when selecting a Sub for my system, I decided I wanted "accuracy" if that makes any sense. I dont want a sloppy boom that often comes from a low rider. I want my rock to "hit" in perfect tune with the mids and deliver a great show!

So my question is....What difference does the size of my Sub make? Is a 12" more accurate than a 15", or is that just what I have heard? OR..Is it all in the installation, AMP, etc?

Thanx for your input!

------------------
Californiaguy

Old 07-07-2000, 11:35 PM   #2
Richard Clark

90% of it is in the total system design and this includes the box---if any woofer was fast it could also be a mid or tweet--
Old 07-08-2000, 01:36 AM   #3
The Buzz

I agree. Its many times more in the application than the woofer. Many boom cars use mis tuned Prefab bandpasses and too-small ported boxes or whatever was the spiff special at best buy. I contend you can take a 15" or 18" and make it sound every bit as good/fast as a smaller sub with the right box. A larger sub has more mass to control, which would appear bad, BUT it has to move much less to have the same output as a smaller driver at a given frequency. IMO the people that say large woofers can't sound clean and tight have some things to learn..
Old 07-08-2000, 02:18 AM   #4
HIPHI

THATS ALL GOOD, BUT WHY NOT DO SEVERAL 8S OR 10S IN A NORMAL SEALED BOX, RATHER THAN HAVE TO MAKE A BIGGER WOOFER PERFORM LIKE MANY SMALLER WOOFERS? ESPECIALLY WHEN SPACE IS AN ISSUE....

Old 07-08-2000, 02:36 AM   #5
Californiaguy